CCL Home


Software Community Operations

People in the Cooperative Computing Lab

DirectorStaffCollaborating Faculty

Douglas Thain

Benjamin Tovar

Research Software Engr

Patrick Flynn

Jesus Izaguirre

Scott Emrich

Graduate Students

Dinesh Rajan

Outreach Coordinator

Patrick Donnelly

First Responder

Peter Sempolinksi

Casey Robinson

Peter Ivie

Haiyan Meng

Nicholas Hazekamp

Undergraduate Students

Kyle Mulholland

Apply Today!

CCL Alumni
Ph.D. Graduates
  • Dr. Li Yu, Ph.D. 2013. Bloomberg, Inc.
  • Dr. Peter Bui, Ph.D. 2012. Faculty at University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire.
  • Dr. Hoang Bui, Ph.D. 2012. Post-doctoral scholar at Rutgers University.
  • Dr. Christopher Moretti - Ph.D. 2010 - Faculty at Princeton University.
  • Dr. Kyle Wheeler - Ph.D. 2009 - Researcher at Sandia National Labs.
  • Dr. Jeffrey Hemmes - Ph.D. 2009 - Faculty at the Air Force Institute of Technology.
  • Past Students
  • Michael Albrecht - Contributed to Work Queue development.
  • DeVonte Applewhite - Contributed to Work Queue visualization and reporting.
  • Brenden Kokoszka - Implemented the search system call.
  • Nicholas Jaeger - Contributed to Work Queue.
  • Brian Dusell - Redesigned the Biocompute bioinformatics portal.
  • Robert Wirthman - Contributed to the ND cloud facility.
  • Kevin Wern - Created a Work Queue visualization.
  • Kyle Mulholland - Contributed to Makeflow visualization.
  • Jessica Vallejo - Contributed to Work Queue testing.
  • John Quinn - Contributed to the virtual windtunnel portal.
  • Thomas Potthast - Contributed to the Biocompute analysis portable.
  • Joseph Fetsch - Constructed genetic algorithms using Work Queue.
  • Iheanyi Ekuchuku - Contributed to the BXgrid web portal.
  • Taylor Seale - Contributed to the CFD workbench.
  • Vincent Birch - Contributed to the automatic build and test environment.
  • Chris Bauschka (Purdue University) - Created tools for database management of large workflows.
  • Rachel Witty - Added large scale data processing capabilities to BXGrid.
  • Ryan Jansen - Built out the Green Cloud at the CRC.
  • Zachary Musgrave (Clemson University) - Created new scalable bioinformatics applications.
  • Anthony Canino (SUNY-Binghamton) - Created a scalable replica exchange framework.
  • Carl Beyer - B.S. 2010 - Designed new tagging and viewing capabilities to BXGrid.
  • Kevin Partington - B.S. 2010 - Created new programming models for distributed computing.
  • Joey Rich Worked on data management features in Biocompute.
  • Kameron Srimoungchach (Clemson University) - Integrated the BXGrid data repository with the Condor pool.
  • Rory Carmichael - B.S. 2009 - Contributed extensively to TeamTrak, BXGrid, and Biocompute.
  • Mark Pasquier - B.S. 2009 - Contributed to data integrity in BXGrid and data management in TeamTrak.
  • Patrick Braga-Henebry - B.S. with honors 2009 - Created the Biocompute genomics portal.
  • Brandon Rich - Created the DataLab parallel computing facility.
  • Christopher Lyon (North Carolina A&T) - Contributed to the BXGrid project.
  • Mike Kelly - B.S. 2009 - Created the BXGrid biometrics portal.
  • Jared Bulosan - B.S. 2008 - Web interfaces for distributed computing.
  • Brian Sullivan - B.S. 2008 - Contributed to data analysis in the Lockdown project.
  • Phil Snowberger - M.S. 2007 - Created the SubID toolkit, now at YouTube.
  • Brendan McNutt - B.S. 2009 - Implemented stride measurement in TeamTrak.
  • Gerhard Niederwieser (Univ. of Innsbruck, Austria) - Created tools for large scale biometric comparisons.
  • Daniel Mack - B.S. 2006 - Implemented approximate network location in TeamTrak.
  • James Fitzgerald - B.S. 2006 - Added kernel support for distributed storage.
  • James Ehlinger - B.S. 2006 - Built a distributed backup system.
  • Paul Madrid - B.S. 2004 - Distributed resource management.

  • CCL Team June 2013

    CCL Team March 2012
    Back Row: Peter Sempolinksi, Thomas Potthast, Robert Wirthman, Michael Albrecht, Dinesh Rajan. Front Row: Patrick Donnelly, Joe Fetsch, Peter Bui, Hoang Bui, Li Yu, Prof Thain.

    CCL Team July 2010
    Back Row: Prof. Thain, Peter Sempolinksi, Michael Albrecht, Patrick Donnelly, Zachary Musgrave. Front Row: Hoang Bui, Anthony Canino, Li Yu, Rachel Witty. Not shown: Peter Bui

    CCL Team July 2009
    Back Row: Joey Rich, Michael Albrecht, Connor Keenan, Ryan Jansen, Kameron Srimounghach, Prof. Thain. Front Row: Rachel Witty, Peter Bui, Li Yu, Chris Moretti, Hoang Bui.

    CCL Team January 2009
    Patrick Braga-Henebry, Mike Kelly, Rory Carmichael, Douglas Thain
    Li Yu, Chris Moretti, Hoang Bui, Mike Lammie
    Not Shown: Michael Albrecht, Jeffrey Hemmes

    CCL Team July 2008
    Michael Albrecht, Mike Kelly, Douglas Thain,
    Hoang Bui, Chris Moretti, Chris Lyon
    Not Shown: Hoang Bui, Jeffrey Hemmes

    CCL Team June 2007
    Jared Bulosan, Brian Sullivan, Jeffrey, Hemmes, Douglas Thain
    Rory Carmichael, Chirs Moretti, Brandon Rich