# Meeting Organizer:

Patricia L. Clark, University of Notre Dame

## **Program Committee:**

Connie Jeffery, University of Illinois at Chicago Lisa Lapidus, Michigan State University

# **Conference Venue:**

Notre Dame Conference Center McKenna Hall University of Notre Dame 574-631-6691

Financial support for this Conference is gratefully acknowledged from:

Bio-Logic USA, LLC

Jasco, Inc.

GE Healthcare

## HORIBA

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Notre Dame Thomas R. Kissel Endowment for Excellence in Chemistry

College of Science, University of Notre Dame

Office of Research, University of Notre Dame

# 14<sup>th</sup> Midwest Conference on Protein Folding, Assembly and Molecular Motions

Notre Dame Conference Center - McKenna Hall - University of Notre Dame

May 4, 2019

- 8:30 8:55 *Coffee, juice, and pastries*
- 8:55 9:00 Opening Remarks Patricia L. Clark

#### Proteins In Vivo

Chair: Elizabeth Gichana (Chapman Lab, Univ. Michigan)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

## **Opening Plenary Speaker**

9:00 – 9:30 The ParA/MinD family of ATPases make waves to position DNA, cell division & organelles in bacteria Anthony Vecchiarelli Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of Michigan, AnnArbor

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

9:30 – 9:50 Cell Volume Controls Protein Stability and Compactness of the Unfolded State
<u>Yuhan Wang</u>,<sup>†,∥</sup> Shahar Sukenik,<sup>\*,∥,#</sup> Caitlin M. Davis,<sup>‡,§</sup> and Martin Gruebele<sup>\*,†,‡,§</sup>
<sup>†</sup>Center for Biophysics and Computational Biology, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801, United States; ‡Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801, United States; \$Department of Physics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801, United States; #Department of Chemistry of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801, United States; #Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, University of California, Merced; #Equally contributing authors, \*Corresponding authors

9:50 – 10:10 Polymerizing the Fiber Between Bacteria and Parkinson's Disease <u>Sujeet S. Bhoite</u>, Neha Jain and Matthew R. Chapman Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 48109

10:10 – 10:40 *Coffee Break* 

## **Binding & Phase Separation**

Chair: Gopika Gopen (Gruebele Lab, UIUC)

 10:40 – 11:00 Molecular factors underlying stress-triggered phase separation of Pabl <u>Ruofan Chen</u><sup>3</sup>, Darren Kahan<sup>1,2</sup>, Joshua A. Riback<sup>2</sup>, Christopher D. Katanski<sup>1</sup>, D. Allan Drummond<sup>2,4\*</sup>, Tobin R. Sosnick<sup>1,2\*</sup>
 <sup>1</sup>Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637
 <sup>2</sup>Institute for Biophysical Dynamics, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637
 <sup>3</sup>Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637
 <sup>4</sup>Department of Human Genetics, University of Chicago, IL 60637

 11:00 – 11:20 Dissociation Pathway of Selective Ligand PK11195 from TSPO <u>Thomas Dixon<sup>1,2</sup></u> and Alex Dickson<sup>2,1</sup> 1: Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan 2: Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan

11:20 – 11:40 Structural heterogeneity of the protein Cdt1 in the formation of kinetochore microtubule attachments
<u>Kyle Smith</u><sup>1</sup>, Srinivas Chakravarthy<sup>2</sup>, Jared Young<sup>3</sup>, Arabela Grigorescu<sup>4</sup>, Joseph Curtis<sup>5</sup>, Dileep Varma<sup>1</sup>
1 Department of Cell & Molecular Biology, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
2 Biophysics Collaborative Access Team, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL
3 Elion Labs, Louisville, CO
4 Keck Biophysics Facility and Department of Molecular Biosciences, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
5 National Institutes of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD

11:45 - 1:30 Lunch

1:30 – 3:00 Poster Session

### **Protein Screening & Sequence Scanning**

Chair: Anabel Rodriguez (Clark Lab, Univ. Notre Dame)

- 3:00 3:20 The structural basis for protein energy landscapes in a de novo designed proteome Gabriel J. Rocklin<sup>1</sup>, Scott Houliston<sup>2</sup>, Lauren Carter<sup>3</sup>, Cheryl Arrowsmith<sup>2</sup>, Miklos Guttman<sup>4</sup>, David Baker<sup>3,5</sup>
   <sup>1</sup>Department of Pharmacology & Center for Synthetic Biology, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
   <sup>2</sup>Structural Genomics Consortium, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada <sup>3</sup>Department of Biochemistry & Institute for Protein Design, University of Washington, Seattle, WA <sup>4</sup>Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Washington, Seattle, WA <sup>5</sup>HHMI
- 3:20 3:40 *Quantitative Prediction of Bacterial Fitness from Protein Biophysics* Catherine R. Knoverek and Gregory R. Bowman

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO 63110

 3:40 – 4:00 Evaluating Biophysical Constraints on the Sequence of Rhodopsin by Deep Mutational Scanning Charles P. Kuntz,<sup>1</sup> Francis J. Roushar,<sup>1</sup> Laura M. Chamness,<sup>1</sup> Wesley D. Penn,<sup>1</sup> Bian Li,<sup>2</sup> Hope Woods,<sup>2</sup> Beata Jastrzebska,<sup>3</sup> Jens Meiler<sup>2</sup> & Jonathan P. Schlebach<sup>1\*</sup>
 <sup>1</sup> Department of Chemistry, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN USA 47405
 <sup>2</sup> Department of Chemistry, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN USA 37235
 <sup>3</sup> Department of Pharmacology, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH USA 44106

4:00 – 4:30 *Coffee Break* 

#### **Protein Quality Control**

Chair: Iker Soto (Clark Lab, Univ. Notre Dame)

4:30 – 4:50 *Dispersal of stress-induced poly(A)-binding protein aggregates (Pab1) by the Hsp104 disaggregation system* <u>Haneul Yoo, Evgeny Pilipenko, D. Allan Drummond</u> Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

#### **Closing Plenary Speaker**

 4:50 – 5:20 Quality Control of Mitochondrial Membrane Proteins Heidi Fresenius, Mackenzie Dolacki, Shreya Gumidyala, Chaitanya Koli, Ashley Scheutzow, Nadia Sherman, Gracie Siffer, Nathan Walker, and <u>Matthew L.</u> <u>Wohlever</u> Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The University of Toledo, 2801 Bancroft Street, Toledo, OH 43606 USA

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

- 5:20 5:25 Closing Remarks Connie Jeffrey
- 5:25 6:30 *Closing Reception*