Group Members

Graduate Students

John is a Ph.D. student from Missouri, who received his B.S. in mechanical engineering from the Missouri University of Science and Technology. He has been here since 2016.

Karina is a Ph.D. candidate participating in the joint engineering Ph.D. program between Notre Dame and the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.

Kyle is a Ph.D. student who obtained his undergraduate degrees in physics and computer science from California State University, Chico. He started at Notre Dame in 2019.

Daniel is a Ph.D student from Georgia. He attended Georgia College & State University for his undergraduate studies where he received a B.S. in Physics. He started at Notre Dame in 2020.

Chibueze is a PhD student from Nigeria. He received his BSc. degree in Geophysics from the University of Lagos, MSc. in Mathematical sciences (AIMS-Rwanda) and a PGDiploma in Earth system Physics at the International center for theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy.

Postdoctoral Researchers

Charlotte is a postdoctoral researcher who joined the group in August 2018. She earned her PhD from the University of Oklahoma in 2014 studying sodar simulation for boundary-layer characterization. Her recent research has focused on using radar to study bats, birds, and insects in the atmosphere. She is currently working on cloud and fog microphysics as part of the C-FOG campaign.

Wei Gao is a postdoctoral researcher who joined the group in Feb 2021. He earned his PhD from the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in 2020. During his PhD, he focused on high-order DNS/LES of complex wall-bounded turbulent flows, especially on the wall modeling approach in complex geometries. His recent research is focusing on high-Re dust-laden flows with DNS and LES.

Undergraduate Students

Former Students and Postdocs

  • Guiquan Wang was a postdoctoral researcher from January 2018 - October 2019, and worked on particle-laden turbulence and dust transport. He is now a postdoctoral scholar in the Physics of Fluids group at the University of Twente

  • Tianze Peng received his Ph.D. in 2020, and is now a postdoc at McGill University

  • Elise Wright received her Ph.D. in 2019, and now works as a hydrologist at the USGS

  • Indrajith Nissanka was a postdoctoral scholar at Notre Dame from 2016-2018 and worked on parameterizations of aerosols in the marine atmospheric boundary layer

  • Brian Helgans graduated with his M.S. in 2015 with a thesis entitled "Turbulent latent and sensible heat flux in the presence of evaporative droplets"

  • Duy Nguyen graduated with his M.S. in 2017 with a thesis entitled "Sea spray concentration profile in the marine atmospheric boundary layer"