Two Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

Frank P. Incropera, the Matthew H. McCloskey Dean of Engineering and H.C. and E.A. Brosey Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Wolfgang Porod, the Freimann Professor of Electrical Engineering, have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The AAAS is the world’s largest scientific society, serving more 120,000 members.

Incropera was cited by the organization for “distinguished contributions to the field of heat transfer and for significant contributions to engineering education as both a classroom teacher and an engineering dean.” A member of the National Academy of Engineering and one of the 100 most frequently cited engineers in the world, his research deals with fundamentals of heat and mass transfer and their application to energy and electronic systems.

Porod, the director of the Center for Nano Science and Technology, is the co-inventor of the Quantum-dot Cellular Automata (QCA) concept, a transistorless approach to computing. His research focuses on solid-state physics and its application to electronics, quantum devices and architectures for nanoelectronics, as well as the limits imposed by the laws of physics on computation.


To Homepage To University Homepage To College Homepage