Seminars and Events
Panos J. Antsaklis

Department of
Electrical Engineering

University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Phone: +1 (574) 631-5792
Fax: +1 (574) 631-4393
Office: 205A Cushing Hall

Symposium on Autonomy - Website, Interview

Autonomy at ND

Highlighted Publications



Awards & Recognitions

Interviews & In the News


Awards & Recognitions

Honorary doctorate from Université de Lorraine

Panos Antsaklis, the H. Clifford and Evelyn A. Brosey Professor of Electrical Engineering, was awarded an Honorary Doctorate (Docteur Honoris Causa) by the University of Lorraine (Universite de Lorraine), Nancy, Lorraine, France. The award ceremony took place on December 3rd, 2012 in Metz. The University of Lorraine is one of the largest universities in France. It was founded by the merger of four Universities, the Henri Poincare University (Nancy-I), Nancy-II, Paul Verlaine University - Metz and the National Polytechnic Institute of Lorraine (INPL).
Remarks on Accepting the Honorary Doctorate
More pictures

The 2006 Brown Engineering Alumni Medal Award (BEAM) of Brown University, May 27, 2006

Remarks - BEAM 2006
Photo slides used at the ceremony
List of BEAM Recipients


Research Achievement Award

He is the recipient of the 2020 Research Achievement Award of the University of Notre Dame. The Research Achievement Award, established in 2001, honors a distinguished faculty member who has made significant contributions to scholarship in his or her discipline and to the research and graduate education goals of the University.

Faculty Award

He is the recipient of the 2013 Faculty Award of the University of Notre Dame. The Faculty Award was established in the 1927-28 academic year and singles out that faculty member, who in the opinion of his or her colleagues has contributed outstanding services to the University. Nominations are received from the faculty at large and a committee of former Faculty Award winners makes the final selection.

Faculty Recognition Award at Notre Dame

All-Faculty Team Recognition

Recognized on the field (20-yard line) at the ND vs. Boston College game, November 19, 2011 in front of 85,000 football fans. Presented with a signed football by Provost Tom Burish.

Game Day Program
Public Announcement


Teaching Awards

  • Kaneb Teaching Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, Univ. of Notre Dame, 2000
  • Master Mentor of Graduate Students, the Graduate School, Univ. of Notre Dame, 1999.
  • Outstanding Teacher Award for Undergraduate Teaching, Dept. of Electr. Engr., Univ. of Notre Dame, 1991.

Investiture of the Brosey Chair

October 16, 2002

Remarks - Brosey Investiture

Appointment to Presidential Advisory Council


Max-Planck Institute

Scientific Advisory Board (Fachbeirat) Member of the Max-Planck-Institut fur Dynamik Komplexer Technischer Systeme, Magdeburg, Germany; Member 2002-2007, Chair 2008-2012

AAAS Fellow

He is Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, AAAS (2011) for distinguished contributions to the field of Systems and Control, particularly for feedback control of multi-variable systems, intelligent, hybrid and discrete event systems.

Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

Each year the Council elects members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.

IFAC Fellow

He is Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control, IFAC (2010) for fundamental contributions to hybrid control systems, supervisory control of discrete event systems, control of systems over networks and for leadership in the profession.

The IFAC Fellow Award is given to persons who have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions in the field of interest of IFAC, in the role as an Engineer/Scientist, Technical Leader, or Educator.

IEEE Recognitions

  • IEEE Fellow Award 1991. Citation reads: "For contributions to the theory of feedback stabilization and control of linear multivariable systems."
  • IEEE Millennium Medal, 2000.
  • IEEE Distinguished Member Award, Control Systems Society, 1998
  • IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, Control Systems Society, 1996-2003.
  • President IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS), 1997.
  • General Chair, 34th IEEE Conf. on Decision and Control, New Orleans, LA, December 1995.
  • General Chair, 8th IEEE Intern Symposium on Intelligent Control, Chicago IL, August 1993.
  • Program Chair, 30th IEEE Conf. on Decision and Control, Brighton, England, December 1991.
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, 2010-2017

MCA President

Founding President of the Mediterranean Control Association (MCA). President, since 1998.


ECC Program Chair (EUCA)

Program Chair, European Control Conference 2007 (ECC'07), Kos, Greece. July 2-6, 2007.
EUCA, European Union Control Association.


Distinguished Lecturer

2001 Zaborszky Lectures in the Department of Systems Science and Mathematics, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, on March 19-21, 2001.



Fulbright-Hayes Fellowship (Travel Grant) 1972-1977.


Service Award

Service Award, Saint Andrew's Greek Orthodox Church, South Bend, Indiana, 1996

For services as the Director of the Greek School and as the Founding President of the Hellenic Cultural Society.