"What do six of the current Supreme Court justices, presidents Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush, James A. Michener, John Updike, Elizabeth Dole, Benazir Bhutto, Stephen Sondheim, Dr. Jonas Salk, poet laureate Rita Dove, and Buffalo Bills coach Marvin Levy have in common?" The answer is: membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Father Hesburgh, Father Malloy, and Father Jenkins are members; so are more than 100 Notre Dame faculty and staff members.

The great majority of members of Phi Beta Kappa were elected while undergraduates. Nonetheless, each chapter has the power to elect a very small number of honorary and alumni/ae members.  In 2005/2006, Prof. Anthony Hyder was recognized as an alumnus member, and Prof. Cornelius Delaney was selected as an honorary member.  The person elected for 2006/2007 as an alumna member  is Patricia O’Hara, the Dean of the Notre Dame Law School.






Home | Criteria | Members | Epsilon of Indiana | Activities