Jonathan Hauenstein
hauenstein [AT] nd.edu
Robert and Sara Lumpkins Collegiate Professor
Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics
201E Crowley Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556
(574) 631-6566
Fax: (574) 631-4822

Preprints/Dissertation       Collaborators

Algebraic Geometry and Machine Learning: Special Issue of Journal of Symbolic Computation (JSC)

International Congress on Mathematical Software (ICMS 2018)

Polynomials, Kinematics, and Robotics

Workshop on Software and Applications of Numerical Algebraic Geometry

Journal of Symbolic Computation (JSC)

Journal of Algebra and Its Applications (JAA)

Numerical Algebraic Geometry: Special Issue of Journal of Symbolic Computation (JSC)

Applications of Polynomial Systems, CBMS 134, AMS, 2020.

Numerically Solving Polynomial Systems with Bertini
D.J. Bates, J.D. Hauenstein, A.J. Sommese, and C.W. Wampler
Software, Environments, and Tools 25, SIAM, 2013.
     #23 of 2014 SIAM Bestsellers
Also available at Amazon.

alphaCertified is a software package designed to certify numerical solutions to polynomial equations currently being developed by J.D. Hauenstein and F. Sottile.

Bertini is a software package for Numerical Algebraic Geometry currently being developed by D.J. Bates, J.D. Hauenstein, A.J. Sommese, and C.W. Wampler.
  Clusters running Bertini

cadenza is a software package designed to certify numerical path tracking currently being developed by J.D. Hauenstein, I. Haywood, and A.C. Liddell, Jr.

In The News:
Hauenstein, Putman named as Simons Fellows (April 2024)
2024 Simons Fellows in Mathematics Announced (March 2024)
Will math show that muscle form matters? (August 2023)
ACMS professor Jonathan Hauenstein named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (December 2021)
AMS names 2022 class of Fellows (November 2021)
Hauenstein named to Michiana's 2021 "Forty under 40" class (July 2021)
Jonathan Hauenstein appointed chair of Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics (May 2021)
2021 Michiana Forty under 40 class announced (May 2021)
Faculty awards honor undergraduate teaching and advising (May 2020)
ACMS utilizes department experience to deliver spring courses online (April 2020)
Science Exploration Series: The Secret of Staying in Sync: It's not Magic. It's Math. (October 2017)
Applied mathematician applies his Notre Dame education to teach the next generation (June 2017)
Alumnus to speak at UF Math Day (March 2017)
Math in Motion: UF Alumnus to Give Math Day Presentations (March 2017)
Hauenstein receives Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program award (March 2016)
Six to be Honored at Homecoming Weekend Alumni Association Breakfast (October 2015)
SIAM News article - "Biologically-inspired Linkage Design: Computing Form From Function" (October 2015)
Technician (NCSU Student Newspaper) on Sloan Fellowship (Spring 2014)
Math Prof Named Sloan Research Fellow (NC State University, Spring 2014)
Sloan Research Fellowships 2014 announcement in the New York Times (Spring 2014)
College of Science News on DARPA YFA (NC State University, Fall 2013)
Undergraduate Mathematics Newsletter (NC State University, Fall 2012)
The Math Moment (University of Findlay, June 2010)

Postdoctoral Researchers:
      2023 - current: Steve Cruz
      2022 - 2023: Zachary Miksis
      2022 - current: Joseph Cummings
      2021 - 2022: Taylor Brysiewicz
      2020 - 2022: K. Gayan Maduranga
      2020 - 2023: Parker Edwards
      2018: Papri Dey (ICERM postdoc)
      2017 - 2019: Tingting Tang
      2016 - 2017: Yi Zhang
      2014 - 2015: Jose I. Rodriguez
      2014 - 2017: Danielle A. Brake
      2013 - 2015: Dhagash Mehta

Graduate Researchers:
      2021 - current: Caroline Hills
      2021 - 2024: Aravind Baskar (joint with Mark Plecnick)
      2019 - 2024: Emma Cobian
      2016 - 2021: Samantha Sherman
      2016 - 2020: Margaret Regan
      2013 - 2017: Alan C. Liddell, Jr.
      2013 - 2016: Tulay Ayyildiz Akoglu (joint with Agnes Szanto)
      2013 - 2015: Noah S. Daleo

Undergraduate Researchers:
      2020 - 2022: Matthew Howard
      2019: Sanesha McPherson
      2018: Caroline Hills
      2018: Andrew Moccio
      2017: Christopher Lembo
      2016 - 2017: Michael Semanek
      2016 - 2017: Patrick Tinsley (mentored by D. Brake)
      2015 - 2016: Elizabeth Sudkamp (mentored by D. Brake)
      2015: Pierce Cunneen (mentored by D. Brake)
      2015: Michael Padala (mentored by D. Brake)
      2012 - 2013: Jonathan Page
      2011 - 2012: Zachary A. Griffin

Simons Fellows in Mathematics
Fellow of the American Mathematical Society
Michiana Forty under 40
College of Science Research Award
Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Office of Naval Research Young Investigator (YIP) Award
Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Findlay
Army Young Investigator Program (YIP) Award
Sloan Research Fellowship
DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA)
Teaching Excellence Award (SLATE)

CCF 2331400           FA8650-13-1-7317                     YFA 2013                   Sloan Research         W911NF-20-2-0218              YIP 2016                           SFI-MPS-SFM-00005696
CMMI 2041789                                                                                                 Fellow 2014                     YIP 2015
DMS 1918692
CCF 1812746
DMS 1819006
DMS 1636087
DMS 1547743
ACI 1440583
ACI 1460032
DMS 1262428
DMS 1114336

The content on this website does not necessarily reflect the position or the
policy of the Government, and no officieal endorsement should be inferred.

Last Updated: June 25, 2024