Back to Home Page
College Home
University Home
Past Issues
Contact the Editor
Signatures Cover
Download PDF of this Issue
Changing Misconceptions about Engineering
Seeing the Big Picture
Talking Points
Taking Note
Making the Grade
Sharing Perspectives
Reaching Out
Staying in Touch
Alumni Highlights Alumni Profile Cushing Centennial

In May 2006, Larry M. AUGUSTIN (B.S., EE ’84) was appointed to the board of directors of XenSource, Inc. He also serves on the boards of Fonality, Hyperic, JBoss, Medsphere, OSDL, Pentaho, SugarCRM, and VA Software, formerly VA Linux, which he founded in 1993.
Eric T. BAUMGARTNER (B.S., AERO ’88; Ph.D., AERO ’93) was named dean of the T.J. Smull College of Engineering at Ohio Northern University in Ada, Ohio, in July 2006. Previously, Baumgartner had spent 10 years at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif.
Dennis BOYLE (B.S., ME ’75) was awarded the 2006 College of Engineering Honor Award from the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is a principal and senior design studio leader at IDEO, a global product design firm whose headquarters are in Palo Alto, Calif. Boyle holds more than 50 patents and is the originator of the “Tech Box.”
Air Force colonel Michael T. GOOD (Ph.D., EE ’73), was named to the crew of the 2008 Hubble Space Telescope repair mission on October 31, 2006. The purpose of the flight, Good’s first shuttle mission, is to boost the satellite into a higher orbit and replace its batteries and gyroscopes.
In September 2006 on the 50th anniversary of the development of the first practical solar cell, triple Domer Lawrence L. KAZMERSKI (B.S., EE ’67; M.S., EE ’68; and Ph.D., EE ’71) was presented with the Nelson W. Taylor Award in Materials Science at the University of Pennsylvania. Earlier in the year he was also honored at the 2006 World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion for his “outstanding contributions to the advancement of photovoltaic science and technology.” Kazmerski is the director of the National Center for Photovoltaics at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, a facility of the U.S. Department of Energy, in Golden, Colo.
Carlos A. PAZ DE ARAUJO (B.S., EE ’77; M.S., EE ’79; and Ph.D., EE ’82) has received the 2006 Daniel E. Noble Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for his work in ferroelectric random access memory. The award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to emerging technologies. Paz de Araujo, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, is the first American university professor to receive it.
Applied Micro Circuits Corp. announced that Niel RANSOM (Ph.D., EE ’73), former chief technology officer of Alcatel, was elected to its board of directors in July 2006. Ransom also serves on the boards of ECI Telecom, Overture Networks, and Teknovus.
James P. SCHMIEDELER (B.S., ME ’96) received a 2006 CAREER award from the National Science Foundation. An assistant professor of mechanical engineering at The Ohio State University, his award-winning proposal will study how the brain initiates motor skills in order to develop a robot that will aid in physical rehabilitation.
Kenneth STINSON (B.S., CEGEOS ’64), chairman of Peter Kiewit Sons’ Inc., was elected to the Board of Trustees of the University in May 2006. He has served as a member of the college advisory council since 1996.
In April 2006 PlanView, Inc., of Austin, Texas, named Patrick A. TICKLE (B.S., EE ’87) chief marketing officer, responsible for worldwide marketing operations. Prior to joining PlanView, Tickle served as vice president of marketing and product management at ITM Software.