Back to Home Page
College Home
University Home
Past Issues
Contact the Editor
Signatures Cover
Download PDF of this Issue
Seeing the Big Picture
Talking Points
Taking Note
Making the Grade
Sharing Perspectives
Reaching Out
Staying in Touch
New Dean Bernhard Leads ND Research Merz Named AAAS Fellow
NSF Career Awards Kareem Receives Int'l Nod Laneman Wins PECASE
2007 Teaching Awards ND Storm Tracker Another Patent
Huang Receives Fulbright Award Corke Receives Research Award CSR taps Izaguirre
SWE Honors Pieronek ND Hosts EMC-DRC Conferences IEEE Honors Liu
"Straight on 'til Morning" Bioengineering Ph.D. at ND Brennecke Wins Prausnitz Award
Learning from the Best Maziar Promoted Nanotechnology on Emerald Isle
Engineering Structures Faculty Promotions/Anniversaries New Faculty
General Salute The Green Party Face Recognition Report Released

Learning from the Best

Kwang-Tzu Yang, the Viola D. Hank Professor Emeritus of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, received the Max Jakob Memorial Award in July 2007 during the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)-Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers Thermal Engineering and Summer Heat Transfer Conference in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Named in honor of Max Jakob, a pioneer in the science of heat transmission, the award has been presented annually since 1961. Yang was recognized for a long career of achievement and distinguished service in heat transfer. His research has focused on heat exchanger dynamics, hydronic systems, application of artificial intelligence, oscillating flows, modeling of large fires, tribology, food and materials processing, and technology transfer. He also holds patents for flexible coupling and the wet oxidation of coal for the generation of heat energy. The award is a special honor for Yang as Jakob was his Ph.D. adviser.

A fellow of the ASME and a member of numerous professional societies, Yang is listed in “Who’s Who in America,” “Who’s Who in Engineering” and “American Men and Women of Science.” He has served as a faculty member since 1955.