College News
Antsaklis Receives Presidential Appointment <more>

Brennecke Receives Professional Progress Award <more>

Construction Slated to Begin on New Engineering Buildings <more>
Corke Honored for Research Award <more>
Face Recognition Article Hits Top 25 List <more>

Flynn Named IAPR Fellow <more>

Fuja Named EE Department Chair <more>

Jena Receives CAREER Award <more>
Kogge Named to Interim Council for CCC <more>
Ovaert Named ASME Fellow <more>
Roeder Receives TMS Early Career Award <more>

Silliman Receives Global Engineering & Engineering Technology Educator Award <more>

Yang Receives Jakob Memorial Award <more>


Larry Augustin (B.S., EE ’84) was appointed to the board of directors of XenSource, Inc. in May 2006. Augustin is the founder of VA Linux, now known as VA Software.  VA Software created the largest Open Source development site on the Internet.

Ohio Northern University in Ada, Ohio, named Eric T. Baumgartner (B.S., AERO ’88; Ph.D., AERO ’93) the dean of the T.J. Smull College of Engineering in July 2006. Prior to joining the college, Baumgartner spent 10 years at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif. 

The Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame presented the 2006 College of Engineering Honor Award to Dennis Boyle (B.S., ME ’75). The principal and senior design leader at IDEO in Palo Alto, Calif., Boyle holds more than 50 patents and is the originator of the “Tech Box.”

In October 2006 Colonel Michael T. Good (Ph.D., EE ’ 73) was named to the crew of the 2008 Hubble Space Telescope repair mission. Good was selected as a mission specialist in 2000. The Hubble mission, the final space shuttle flight, will extend the observatory’s capabilities through 20013. Good has logged more than 2,100 hours in a total of 30 different aircraft.

Lawrence L. Kazmerski (B.S., EE ’67; M.S., EE ’68; and Ph.D., EE ’71), the director of the National Center for Photovoltaics at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colo., was honored for his “outstanding contributions to the advancement of photovoltaic science and technology” at the 2006 World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion.

An assistant professor at the University of Florida, Dmitry Kopelevich (Ph.D., CBE ’02) received a 2007 Faculty Early Career Award from the National Science Foundation for his proposal, “Multi-scale Modeling of Self-assembly and Structural Transitions in Amphiphilic Systems.”

Hai Lin (Ph.D., EE ’05) was awarded the 2006 Alumni Association Graduate Research Award in recognition of “exemplary graduate student research that was conducted during the student’s tenure in a Notre Dame graduate program.” His dissertation was titled “Robust Control of Uncertain Linear Hybrid Systems with Networked Control Applications,” and his adviser was Panos Antsaklis, the H.C. and E.A. Brosey Professor of Electrical Engineering. Lin served as a postdoctoral research associate at the University until June 2006, at which time he joined the National University of Singapore as an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Adrienne R. Minerick (M.S., CBE ’03; Ph.D., CBE ’2003), assistant professor of the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering at Mississippi State University, received a 2007 Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation. Her winning proposal was titled “ABO Blood Antigen Dielectrophoresis for Medical Diagnostics: Synergy with Desktop Experiment Modules.”

The chairman of Peter Kiewit Sons’ Inc., Kenneth Stinson (B.S., CEGEOS ’64), was elected to the Board of Trustees of the University in May 2006. He has served as a member of the College of Engineering’s advisory council since 1996.


Patrick A. Tickle (B.S., EE ’87) has joined PlanView, Inc., of Austin, Texas, as chief marketing officer responsible for worldwide marketing operations. He had previously served as vice president of marketing and product management at ITM Software, which is headquartered in Mountain View, Calif.



Student News

Bengal Bouts: A Fighting Chance <more>

Brenner Receives Grant for Community-based Research <more>

ND-SWE Named Outstanding Student Section <more>
Nightingale and Wittich Named DEPS Scholars <more>
Notre Dame Teams Place in 2006 ACM Contest <more>
On Location in the Big Easy <more>

Alumni News

To submit alumni news, click here.

Be sure to include a contact address and phone number as well as all pertinent dates.



Copyright 2007. University of Notre Dame.