College News
Antsaklis Receives Presidential Appointment <more>
Brennecke Receives Professional Progress Award <more>
Construction Slated to Begin on New Engineering Buildings <more>
Corke Receives University Research Award <more>
Face Recognition Article Hits Top 25 List <more>
Flynn Named IAPR Fellow <more>
Fuja Named EE Department Chair <more>
Jena Receives CAREER Award <more>
Kogge Named to Interim Council for CCC <more>
Ovaert Named ASME Fellow <more>
Roeder Receives TMS Early Career Award <more>
Silliman Receives Global Engineering & Engineering Technology Educator Award <more>
Yang Receives Jakob Memorial Award <more>


Student News

Bengal Bouts: A Fighting Chance <more>

Brenner Receives Grant for Community-based Research <more>

ND-SWE Named Outstanding Student Section <more>
Nightingale and Wittich Named DEPS Scholars <more>
Notre Dame Teams Place in 2006 ACM Contest <more>
On Location in the Big Easy <more>

Alumni News

To visit College of Engineering Alumni
News <click here>

Brennecke Receives Professional Progress Award

Joan F. Brennecke, the Keating-Crawford Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Director of the Notre Dame Energy Center, has been named the recipient of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ (AIChE) 2006 Professional Progress Award. The award recognizes outstanding progress in the field of chemical engineering and is given to individuals less than 45 years of age who have made significant contributions to the science of chemical engineering through a theoretical discovery or development of a new principle in the chemical engineering field, the development of a new process or product, an invention or development of new equipment, or distinguished service rendered to the field or profession.

A faculty member since 1989, Brennecke is internationally known for her research in the development of solvents, specifically supercritical fluids and ionic liquids. She is only the second woman to receive the award in its 58-year history. Her research interests include supercritical fluid technology, ionic liquids, thermodynamics, environmentally benign chemical processing, and carbon dioxide separation, storage, and usage.






Copyright 2007. University of Notre Dame.