College News
Antsaklis Receives Presidential Appointment <more>
Brennecke Receives Professional Progress Award <more>
Construction Slated to Begin on New Engineering Buildings <more>
Corke Receives University Research Award <more>
Face Recognition Article Hits Top 25 List <more>
Flynn Named IAPR Fellow <more>
Fuja Named EE Department Chair <more>
Jena Receives CAREER Award <more>
Kogge Named to Interim Council for CCC <more>
Ovaert Named ASME Fellow <more>
Roeder Receives TMS Early Career Award <more>
Silliman Receives Global Engineering & Engineering Technology Educator Award <more>
Yang Receives Jakob Memorial Award <more>


Student News

Bengal Bouts: A Fighting Chance <more>

Brenner Receives Grant for Community-based Research <more>

ND-SWE Named Outstanding Student Section <more>
Nightingale and Wittich Named DEPS Scholars <more>
Notre Dame Teams Place in 2006 ACM Contest <more>
On Location in the Big Easy <more>

Alumni News

To visit College of Engineering Alumni
News <click here>

Ovaert Named ASME Fellow

Professor Timothy C. Ovaert is the 11th member of the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering to be named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The highest elected grade of membership in the society, the honor of fellow is conferred upon a member with a minimum of 10 years of active engineering practice in recognition of significant contributions made to the field.

Ovaert’s research interests are in high-performance materials and materials characterization for tribological, structural, biomedical, and manufacturing applications and include polymeric matrix composites, high-performance polymers, polymer thin films, elastomers, carbon-carbon composites, ceramics, solid lubricants, and novel surface modification techniques. He is also active in the mechanical characterization of bone for bioengineering and pharmaceutical research applications. Ovaert joined the University in 2000.


Copyright 2007. University of Notre Dame.