The Kamat Group

Dr. Prashant Kamat

Dr. Prashant Kamat, University of Notre Dame Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Radiation Laboratory, concurrent porfessor Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Deputy editor of Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters.

Prashant V. Kamat is a Rev. John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Professor of Science in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Radiation Laboratory at the University of Notre Dame. He is also a Concurrent Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. He earned his doctoral degree (1979) in Physical Chemistry from the Bombay University, and postdoctoral research at Boston University (1979-1981) and University of Texas at Austin (1981-1983). He joined Notre Dame in 1983. Professor Kamat has for four decades worked to build bridges between physical chemistry and material science to develop advanced nanomaterials that promise cleaner and more efficient light energy conversion..

He has directed DOE funded solar photochemistry research for more than 40 years. In addition to large multidisciplinary interdepartmental and research center programs, he has actively worked with industry-sponsored research. He has served on many national panels on nanotechnology and energy conversion processes. He has published more than 500 peer reviewed scientific papers that have been well recognized by the scientific community (85000 citations, h-index 146 –Source Web of Science). Since 2014 Thomson-Reuters has featured him as one of the most cited researchers every year (2014-2023).

He is currently serving as the Editor-in-Chief of ACS Energy Letters. He has also served as the deputy editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters. He is a member of the advisory board of several scientific journals (Chemical Reviews, Journal of Colloid & Interface Science, ACS Applied Nanomaterials, Research on Chemical Intermediates, and Applied Electrochemistry). His contributions are recognized through various national and international awards. They include Honda-Fujishima Lectureship award by the Japanese Photochemical Society (2006), CRSI medal by the Chemical Research Society of India (2011), Langmuir lectureship award (2013), Smalley Award by the Electrochemical Society (2022), Porter Medal in Photochemistry (2022), and Henry H. Storch Award in Energy Chemistry (ACS National award, 2024). He is a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (ECS), American Chemical Society (ACS), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Materials Research Society (MRS), and Pravasi Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy.


Detailed Curriculum Vitae